CCIE Pursuit Blog

January 14, 2008

Status Update: 07 – 13 January

Last week I went out of town with my family.  I brought the laptop and planned on doing a bunch of studying while my wife took the kids to the water park.  Needless to say, I got very little studying done.  I feel that any lost opportunity to study is keeping me from attaining my goal.   I need to be able to just take a break sometimes and accept that I will not be able to study.  It’s better to “lose” the study time than plan on studying and feeling bad about not hitting my study goals.

Otherwise it was a pretty good week.  I completed Volume II lab 4.  Either this lab was easier (at least the core tasks) or I’m actually getting better.  There were only a couple of technologies (like storm-control) in the core sections that I was not comfortable with.

Here are my goals from last week: 

Review the IEATC BGP videos.  Volume I BGP labs. Review the Advanced OSPF IEATC videos.  Do Volume II lab 4.  Do 4 random labs from each of Volume I OSPF, EIGRP, RIP (12 total).

Those damned BGP videos.  🙂  I still have not reviewed them.  Nor did I do the Volume I BGP labs (I had planned to do those in the hotel room).  I did complete the rest of the tasks on the list though.

I did mess up my planned lab strategy by doing lab 4:

I will do labs 1, 2, 3, and 6 as learning labs. Then I will do lab 4 as a simulated lab.

I will substitute lab 1 for lab 4.  I hope to take it as a simulated lab in the next two weeks.

Goals for this week:  Redo Volume II lab 3.  Redo Volume III lab 2.  Do 4 random labs from each of Volume I OSPF, EIGRP, RIP (12 total).

Days Until Lab: 139
Readiness (1 to 10): 2
Lab Hours This Week 16
Study Hours This Week (estimate): 4

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.