CCIE Pursuit Blog

September 1, 2008

Happy Labor Day

Filed under: Cisco,Cisco Certification — cciepursuit @ 11:20 am
Tags: , , ,

While my family is out grilling and enjoying the beautiful summer day, I’ll be labbing it up.  I’m starting my final push towards the lab.  I’ve taken all of my vacation days and will be spending as much time as I can commit towards studying for the lab.

Today is Labor Day in the US.  A week ago I posted a link to Jason Hiner’s blog entry on five things that suck about working in IT along with a mini-rant.  Today Jason has a new post up about five thing that make it great to work in IT.  I agree with Jason’s points but I think that the best reason (other than the very good money) that I work in IT is because I love the work.  I’m very lucky to be able to have a job that I love which also pays well.  My father told me when I was young that “You can either work with your hands or with your mind.  I’ve worked with my hands all of my life and have not enjoyed it.  You should strive to work with your mind.”  My dad busted his ass at a job that he did not like and then died early.  As much as some of the corporate bullshit gets me angry, I still LOVE my job and I feel very blessed to work this field.  Many of you must feel the same way or you would not put yourself through the hell that it takes to attain those magic digits.

Back to the rack.  🙂

1 Comment »

  1. Happy labour day, enjoy the labbing 🙂 As you say we are lucky we get paid well for something that we love and although we think we work hard it is nothing compared to hard physical labour.

    Comment by Ferret999 — September 3, 2008 @ 1:54 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

