CCIE Pursuit Blog

August 25, 2008

25 August – CCIE Quickies

Filed under: Cisco,Cisco Certification — cciepursuit @ 12:51 pm
Tags: , , ,

Ethereal Mind – Greg Ferro has a nice post up explaining some of the ins and outs of Cisco Partners and how the CCIE fits in.

ArdenPackeer.com – Arden continues his excellent series of tutorials with OSPF Filter-Lists.

TechRepublic – Jason Hiner’s Tech Sanity Check tackles five things that suck about working in IT.  I agree with each of the five things to one degree or another.  One that I would add to the list is under-appreciation.  I don’t mean appreciation like giving me a pat on the back or a fucking gift certificate when I do a “good job”. If you feel like “appreciating” me in that sense then just give me a bigger bonus or raise.  What I mean is that management and co-workers should appreciate that the IT staff (especially the senior IT staff)  bring significant knowledge and skill to the job.  A couple of recent quotes from my work:

1) “But the salesperson says that it will do function x.”  Really?  The jackass who gets a commission if you buy his product is telling you that it will end world hunger and increase your sex appeal?  Well it MUST be true then.  I must be wrong because I have no idea how our network is designed and I obviously benefit if we don’t buy the product, right?  Go ahead and buy the damned bauble.  Then blame ME when function x does not work.

2) “You need to get the legacy voice team trained on data.”  Sure I’ll be able to pass on my knowledge to this group without a problem.  After all, I’m obviously a teacher and everything you need to know to do my “data” job can be taught in a couple of hours.  Cross-training between the voice and data teams at my last job consisted of each team receiving a “For Dummies” book for the other team’s technology*.  Seriously.  Six months later management complained that “convergence” had still not occurred.

I’ll cut my rant short because I need to study.  🙂

*A couple of us hatched a plan to buy copies of “Management for Dummies” and leave them on the managers’ desks.  Unfortunately it would have been very easy for them to figure out who was behind that caper.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

