CCIE Pursuit Blog

June 6, 2008

Another Interesting Error

Filed under: Cisco,Cisco Certification,IOS,Switching — cciepursuit @ 10:52 am
Tags: , ,

I was configuring a routed port on a 3560 when I ran across an interesting error:

sw1(config-if)#no switch
sw1(config-if)#ip add 161.1.78.7 255.225.255.0
Bad mask 0xFFE1FF00 for address 161.1.78.7

I LOVE it when my switch speaks hex to me.  HOT!!!

I’m not sure why it pointed out my fat-fingered mistake via hex rather than decimal, but it’s pretty easy to decode this one.  My mask should have been 255.255.255.0 or FFFFFF00 in hex.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

