CCIE Pursuit Blog

May 3, 2008

12.4 Documentation

Filed under: Cisco,Cisco Certification,Cisco Documentation,IOS — cciepursuit @ 6:30 am
Tags: , , ,

Maybe I’m the last one to notice this (I’ve been using the 12.3 documentation as well as a documentation DVD for the 12.4 stuff), but it looks like the 12.4 documentation is finally taking shape.  Instead of shooting me off to some product page I got the following message while trying to use the 12.4 documentation from the univercd page:

This documentation has been moved.
You reached this page because you were trying to access documentation from the old Cisco Connection Online (CCO) website, also known as UniverCD. The CCO website is being discontinued. We apologize for any inconvenience, but we hope this redirect will help you find the documentation on the new Cisco.com website.

At http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6350/prod_command_reference_list.html, you will find all the command references for Cisco IOS Release 12.4, including the book you were looking for on the CCO website. Please bookmark this URL for future use.

The univercd link has been replaced for the 12.4 documentation with this mouthful:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6350/tsd_products_support_series_home.html

I have to admit that I like the new structure.  The only downside is that you don’t get all of the commands on one page for the Master Command list (they are broken up into alphabetical blocks).  I liked using that page because I could do an ‘in page’ search for terms.  I can still use the 12.3 page for this.

Take some time to get used to the new page (if you haven’t already).  I think that you’ll like it.  The only glaring issue I’ve found so far is that I don’t see the IPv6 command reference [ht to Keith] (although the IPv6 configuration guide is there).

2 Comments »

  1. I agree, it is taking shape and the new structure works for me. Much improved from a few weeks ago with so many dead links/redirects. There are still a few I found yesterday, but its definitely getting better.

    Comment by antoniehenning — May 4, 2008 @ 4:12 am | Reply

  2. I kind of like the new format too, but with the same caveat that I can’t search *all* commands at once. That’s how I found a command Friday by searching for “queue” – it turned out to be “frame-relay broadcast-queue”, which I would not have just figured out from the task wording. But more importantly is the bizarre manner in which the documentation is being switched over to the new format.

    We’ve probably all done IP or other migrations at some point. One of the guiding principles is little or no downtime. You build the new infrastructure as much as possible before taking the old one out of commission. The doccd could have been left intact until the new site was completely finished, then left up for another year with a big countdown to extinction timer at the top listing how many days until it went poof. Not rocket science, and actually a reeeeeeeally simple, and practically free, way to keep customers happy. Cisco’s documentation team gets a frowny face next to it’s name for this.

    Comment by Keith Tokash — May 4, 2008 @ 11:25 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

