CCIE Pursuit Blog

February 21, 2008

Returning Some Link Love

I am still working on my next set of CCIE Blogs.  I hope to get it done this weekend, but work has been a real bear this week.  In the mean time I want to spotlight a couple of sites that recently sent me some “link love”.

First up is ardenpackeer.com.  Arden has what I would consider a dream job: he’s a Senior Technical Instructor in beautiful Melbourne, Australia (#2 on a very short list of countries I would love to live in).  He has been pursuing the Routing and Switching CCIE since July of last year and it using Internetwork Expert materials.  He’s set to take the lab in May.  As you would expect from a professional instructor, his site has a wealth of well written training material from a QoS Mindmap to  using NBAR and QoS to filter websites to setting up backup interfaces.

I’m very honored to have made his Top 6 CCIE Blogs of 2007 list.  But even without this accolade I would wholeheartedly recommend his site to CCIE candidates and anyone else wanting to become a Cisco ninja. 

It’s pretty cool to find out that someone that you’ve been reading for years has read your site as well.  I’ve been subscribed to David Davis’ Cisco Routers and Switches at TechRepublic (may require a login) for a few years now.  I read his column every Friday.  He also has a personal site at HappyRouter.com as well as a blog at IT Knowledge Exchange.  He recently sent some “link love” (that’s where I got the term from) my way as well as Ivan Pepelnjak’s outstanding Cisco IOS Hints And Tips blog.

Okay, I promise that this is the end of my mutual admiration posts. 🙂  While I have your attention, here are a couple of other interesting tidbits:

Bitbucketblog recently got his CCIE number in Routing and Switching.  The CCIE bug must have bitten him pretty hard or he’s a glutton for punishment because  – after mulling over whether to pursue the Security or Voice track next – he’s decided to pursue the Service Provider track instead.

Ethan Banks is in the middle of Micronic’s boot camp in Pasadena this week and he’s blogging his experience.  It looks like Darby Weaver (who is probably familiar to anyone who reads GroupStudy) is there as well and is posting about the experience here.

Finally, if you have struggled with route redistribution (as I have and still sometimes do) you’ll want to check out the first two postings in what looks like a series of postings on redistribution over at the Internetwork Expert Blog:

Part I

Part II

3 Comments »

  1. Hi,

    Just to say thanks for all blog list that you have made for us.
    I start a public universe on netvibes:
    http://www.netvibes.com/ccie, and put some famous blogs ( you are included of course !)

    🙂

    Comment by lessaid — February 22, 2008 @ 7:30 am | Reply

  2. Awww shucks! Thanks for the Link Love! If you ever make it down to Melbourne, Australia I owe you a beer!

    Comment by Arden — February 25, 2008 @ 2:10 am | Reply

  3. […] Becoming A Cisco CCIE Network Ninja I posted about Arden’s blog earlier, this is an excerpt from that […]

    Pingback by Another Fresh Batch of CCIE Blogs « CCIE Pursuit — March 11, 2008 @ 11:11 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

