CCIE Pursuit Blog

February 10, 2008

Simulated Lab #1: Internetwork Expert Volume II – Lab 1

Volume II Lab 1 Score Report

Section Task

  Points

  Earned

  Time (min)

Bridging and Switching 1.1 2

?

*69

Bridging and Switching 1.2

2

?

8

Bridging and Switching 1.3

2

2

8

Bridging and Switching 1.4

2

0

3

Bridging and Switching 1.5

2

2

25

Bridging and Switching 1.6

2

DNC

Total

12

4 – 8

113

Frame Relay 2.1

2

2

7

Frame Relay 2.2

2

2

5

Frame Relay 2.3

2

2

3

Total

6

6

15

Interior Gateway Routing    3.1

3

3

8

Interior Gateway Routing 3.2

3

3

11

Interior Gateway Routing 3.3

2

2

6

Interior Gateway Routing 3.4

2

2

5

Interior Gateway Routing 3.5

2

2

12

Interior Gateway Routing 3.6

3

3

19

Interior Gateway Routing 3.7

2

2

3

Interior Gateway Routing 3.8

2

2

5

Interior Gateway Routing 3.9

2

2

4

Interior Gateway Routing 3.10

1

1

7

Interior Gateway Routing 3.11

2

2

**42

Total

24

24

122

Exterior Gateway Routing 4.1

3

3

65

Exterior Gateway Routing 4.2

3

3

4

Exterior Gateway Routing 4.3

3

DNC

Total

9

6

69

IP Multicast 5.1

2

2

10

IP Multicast 5.2

2

0

2

IP Multicast 5.3

3

DNC

IP Multicast 5.4

2

DNC

Total

9

2

12

IPv6 6.1

3

3

8

IPv6 6.2

3

3

5

IPv6 6.3

3

0

6

Total

9

6

19

QoS 7.1

3

0

19

QoS 7.2

3

?

10

Total

6

3 – 6

29

Security 8.1

2

DNC

Security 8.2

2

DNC

Total

5

0

0

System Management 9.1

3

3

12

System Management 9.2

3

?

10

System Management 9.3

3

?

16

System Management 9.4

2

2

12

Total

11

5 – 11

50

IP Services 10.1

3

DNC

IP Services 10.2

3

3

15

IP Services 10.3

3

DNC

Total

9

3

15

 

 

Grand Totals

100

 

444

Best Case

 

69

Worst Case

 

56

DNC = Did not complete.
* Includes reading the exam, creating L2 diagram, and initial troubleshooting. 
** Includes creation of TCL scripts and macros.

Notes on specific tasks:

1.1 – I did not put sw1 and sw2 into vtp transparent mode because I never attempted task 1.6 (private VLAN).  I’m not sure if I would lose points for this or not.

1.4 – Stupid mistake #1.  I did not read this question closely.  I would have configured it correctly if I had paid attention to “[ports] will be shut down”.

1.6 – I recognized that this task required private VLANs, but I couldn’t get my head around exactly what the configuration should look like.  I skipped this task rather than risk breaking my network.

5.2 – Stupid mistake #2.  I configured the same router instead two separate routers.  I had the right configuration, but I didn’t switch from r2 to r3 so I ended up putting the entire configuration on r2.

6.3 – Stupid mistake #3.  I forgot to configure the IPv6 hostnames on the routers.

7.1 – Stupid mistake #4.  I configured DLCI 513’s be value on DLCI 504 and vice versa.

7.2 – I used CAR instead of MQC.  I can’t find anything in the question that requires MQC.

9.2 – The task states to “configure all devices in the network” and gives specific ‘logging facility’ values for all devices except sw2 and sw3.  I configured the defaults on those two devices, but the solution guide seems to skip them altogether.

9.3 -I configured ‘ntp peer’ on both r3 and r6.  It is only needed on r3.  Not sure if I would lose points for this or not.

This was my first simulated mock lab.  I limited myself to 8 hours (with a 30 minute “lunch” break).  I have mixed feelings about my experience.  One one hand, I did very well on the core topics.  I aced the IGP and Frame Relay sections.  I nailed the IGP route redistribution (albeit a pretty simple scenario).  I was done with everything up to BGP with the exception of two layer 2 tasks (I completed one of them later) before lunch.  I ran my TCL scripts and ping macros before lunch and then reloaded the routers.

After lunch it was a different story.  I spent over an hour on the first BGP task.  This was a very simple peering task.  For the first time in any lab I had to create a BGP map.  It really helped me out, especially with placing route reflectors.  I spent a ton of time troubleshooting a single peering that would not come up.  It turned out to be a boneheaded mistake.  I configured a neighbor address of 181.13.125.x instead of 181.13.123.x.  ARRGGHHH!!!

I knew that I was not likely to get 80 points as there were a number of tasks which I had no clue as to how to complete.  By the time I was done with BGP, I had about 2.5 hours to complete the remaining 49 points (plus 4 points I skipped in Bridging and Switching).  I knew after reading the lab that I was only going to be able to count on getting about half of those points.  I missed some of these points because of stupid mistakes, but I also picked up some points by mining the DOC.  But in the end, I left 20 points on the table by not attempting/completing the tasks.  While I rocked the core routing section I failed miserably down the stretch.  This is not a surprise as I have been doing a lot of core routing work and only scratching the surface of the non-core tasks. 

I felt pretty good about my time-management skills other then the hour I spent on BGP peering.  It is VERY different trying to complete a lab in 8 hours.  I felt the tyranny of the clock.  Also, I really haven’t logged eight uninterupted, consecutive hours on a rack before.  I was a little punch drunk by the end.  I only missed a couple of (dumb!!!) points due to question interpretation. 

This was IE’s easiest lab and I failed it, so I don’t feel great about that.  On the other hand, I nailed the core tasks and did a pretty good job of managing my time.  As usual, I feel like I’m taking one step forward and 0.99999 steps backward.  🙂

3 Comments »

  1. […] I finished all of my goals this week.  I did Volume II lab 1 as a simulated lab. […]

    Pingback by Status Update: 04 - 10 February « CCIE Pursuit — February 11, 2008 @ 9:59 pm | Reply

  2. It sounds like you did great — the first simulated 8 hour stretch has to be rough. I just did this lab last week (broken up over a couple of days) and ran into some of the same things (rate limiting instead of MQC, ntp peering). I am still verifing w/ the solution guide as I go through each step, so I’m a little nervous for when I have to move to the full test scenario. I guess I will really have to improve on my verification methods. Hopefully I will be as successful as you were this time. It’s a great step in the right direction. Thanks for sharing.

    Cheers!

    Comment by triegert — February 12, 2008 @ 2:26 pm | Reply

  3. One thing I’ve learned–it’s in troubleshooting those stupid mistakes for an hour that the learning really happens. I’ll bet you spent a lot of time using show and debug commands you’ve barely touched before. If it happens again you’ll find the root of the problem much faster. I promise, you will mess up typing an IP address on the actual lab. It happened to me on my first attempt (second attempt coming in March) and cost me a half hour. The mistakes will happen–you just have to be able to find them quickly.

    Comment by Ed — February 13, 2008 @ 9:31 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

