CCIE Pursuit Blog

January 17, 2008

Internetwork Expert Volume III: Lab 2 – Section 1

Troubleshooting – 2 Points

It’s the little things that throw you off.  My wife has my laptop so I’m using an old desktop to complete this lab.  The position of the control key is different than any other keyboard that I use.  So every time that I break out of configuration mode cntl+z or go back to the access server cntl+shift+6 x, I’m tripping over myself.  Yet another good lesson before the lab.

There are faults to find in this lab.  I found the first error in my initial examination of the network (checking that all interfaces are configured per the lab diagram and looking anything funky in the initial configurations):

1)  Incorrect mask on r3’s fa0/0 (should be /24 and not /25):

r3#sh run int fa0/0
interface FastEthernet0/0
 ip address 192.10.1.3 255.255.255.128
 duplex auto
 speed auto

The second error was found later on in the lab.  I overlooked this because although the interface did not have an IP address configured, sometimes this is by design as you are asked to configure it later in the lab.  As it turned out I needed to make a couple of changes to bring up VLAN23.

2) r3’s fa0/1 is not configured with an IP address

r3(config-router)#do sh run int fa0/1
interface FastEthernet0/1
 no ip address
 shutdown

 duplex auto
 speed auto

r3(config-router)#int fa0/1
r3(config-if)#desc ->r2 vlan 23
r3(config-if)#ip add 161.1.23.3 255.255.255.0
r3(config-if)#no sh

r3(config-router)#do sh cdp neigh fa0/1
Capability Codes: R – Router, T – Trans Bridge, B – Source Route Bridge
                  S – Switch, H – Host, I – IGMP, r – Repeater

Device ID        Local Intrfce     Holdtme    Capability  Platform  Port ID
sw3              Fas 0/1            176        R S I      WS-C3560- Fas 0/3

Need to add vlan 23

sw3(config)#do sh run int fa0/3
interface FastEthernet0/3
end

I need to assign this port to VLAN23:
sw3(config)#int fa0/3
sw3(config-if)#swi acc vla 23
sw3(config-if)#^Z

r3(config-router)#do p 161.1.23.2

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 161.1.23.2, timeout is 2 seconds:
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/2/4 ms

The interesting thing about this section is that the IE solution guide shows the second error as r3′ s Frame Relay interfaces being flopped.  My initial configuration did not contain this error.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

