CCIE Pursuit Blog

January 3, 2008

Status Update: 24 – 30 December

With two extra days off this week, I had plans to get a lot of studying done (between snow removal and playing Santa).  Unfortunately I was sick for the entire week.  This is as ill as I have been in about 5 years.  I was constantly tired and miserable.  I did finally manage some study over the weekend as my illness finally broke.

Here are my goals from last week: 

Volume I BGP labs.  Read 4 random labs from each of Volume I OSPF, EIGRP, RIP (12 total).  Do 4 random labs from each of Volume I OSPF, EIGRP, RIP (12 total).  Redo Volume III lab 1.

I ended up doing all of the Volume I OSPF and EIGRP labs.  I don’t see it on my list, but I did review quite a bit of Multicast.  I reviewed the first IEATC Multicast session as well as reading the Multicast chapter in Routing TCP/IP Volume II.  I still need to study the more advanced aspects of Multicast, but at least now I have a decent grasp of the basics.

I was completely embarrassed by a BGP task in Volume III lab 3.  I will be reviewing BGP this week.  I will focus on the Volume I BGP labs and redo Volume III lab 1.  My “goals” list will be pretty much the same as last week’s.

Goals for this week:  Review the IEATC BGP videos.  Volume I BGP labs.  Read 4 random labs from each of Volume I OSPF, EIGRP, RIP (12 total).  Do 4 random labs from each of Volume I OSPF, EIGRP, RIP (12 total).  Redo Volume III lab 1.

Days Until Lab: 150
Readiness (1 to 10): 2
Lab Hours This Week 12
Study Hours This Week (estimate): 3
1 Comment »

  1. BGP is a humbling experience… Guess it hurts that my network here is MPLS where our provider is doing all the routing and I am stuck just doing default routes out :(. I only see BGP in my lab environments.

    Comment by Carl Yost Jr — January 3, 2008 @ 12:31 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

