CCIE Pursuit Blog

November 24, 2007

CCIE Candidate Blog: Lab Strategy

Ethan Banks recently shared out his current (open to revision going forward) lab strategy.   He has developed some very good ideas for how to tackle labs.  I highly encourage you to check it out. 

Here’s an example:

Reading the entire lab and making those diagrams takes me about 30 – 40 minutes. At first, it scared me to take that much time up without writing a line of IOS code. However, I am convinced that doing this work up front greatly reduces errors down the road. Early on doing these practice scenarios, I made the mistake of immediately hammering away at task number 1, only to find out later that I had to rip it out because of the requirements of a different task, or to discover that I could have saved myself a bunch of time by combining a couple of tasks.

Also check out his strategy for diagramming route-redistribution.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

