CCIE Pursuit Blog

November 13, 2007

Status Update: 5 – 11 November

It’s been a while since my last status update.  I went on a week long vacation and then I didn’t write an update last week.  I’m getting back on the horse this week because setting and evaluating my weekly goals is an important method for keeping me on track for my studies.

I’ve completed 2/3 of my weak areas for the CCIE written.  I’ve knocked out QoS and MPLS.  This week I am going to go over the final topic, IPv6.  I studied this topic fairly deeply last year while completing my CCNP.  Too deeply actually.  I swear that most of the IPv6 questions on the CCNP test (it was probably the BSCI…I can’t remember though) were related to the rules for replacing zeros in an IPv6 address.  I’m betting that the CCIE written will be a little more difficult.  🙂  Unfortunately, because I’ve never used IPv6 “in the wild” I have lost nearly all of my IPv6 knowledge.  The good thing is that it’s a lot easier to relearn a topic than to learn it from scratch.

I decided to take a whack at the first of the IE Volume III labs (this used to be their core labs workbook).  I started blogging about that experience and I will finish it later.  In the end I had mixed feelings about my effort.  On the one hand, there were no goals that I was completely clueless on.  But I did manage to completely screw up redistribution, especially mutual redistribution.  I would have rocked the layer 2 and IGP portions except for some really dumb fat-finger mistakes.  As I mentioned I really stunk up the redistribution bit.  I did okay on BGP, except that I was way too slow.  Technology wise, I did pretty well.  BUT the tasks were only core tasks and very unambiguous. 

My takeaway is that I am not ready for full scale labs.  I am going to attempt the next Volume III lab and then repeat labs 1 and 2 over again.  I am hoping that I will discover a couple of lab strategies that way.

In the mean time, I am go over route redistribution since I really embarrassed myself on that section.  I’m going to read Doyle’s chapter on route redistribution and then go over IE’s COD lesson on the same topic.  I also have some CCBootcamp redistribution labs that I will go through.  Finally, I am going to make my own redistribution scenarios in Dynamips.  I want to get to the point where I can look at a topology and know what routes are going to be redistributed as well as the potential pitfalls.

My goals for the week: Study the hell out of route redistribution.  Complete the IE Volume I labs for IPv6.

Days Until Lab: 201
Readiness (1 to 10): 2
Lab Hours This Week 16
Study Hours This Week (estimate): 6
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

