CCIE Pursuit Blog

October 15, 2007

Status Update: 09 – 15 October

I am in the middle of my CCIE written studies.  Although the vast majority of the material is reviewing technologies that I am pretty good at (I had better be by this point), it’s always interesting to note that I am constantly picking up new bits even when reviewing.  I’ll stumble across a command I didn’t know existed or read something that finally puts a concept firmly in my head.  I am glad that I decided to read the written Exam Guide before taking a shot at the exam.

Here are my goals from last week:

Read chapters 5 – 13 of the Routing and Switching Exam Guide. 15 hours of mixed technology labs. Schedule my CCIE written exam.

I got through the first 13 chapters in the Exam Guide.  I stopped at the QoS section.  I’m going to skip that section.  Earlier this year I studied for and passed the Cisco QoS exam.  I have a bunch of notes from those studies and will use those to refresh my QoS knowledge.  I managed to get in 10 hours of labs last week – mostly QoS and BGP labs.  I did not hit my goal of 15 hours, but I was in the 10 – 15 hour range that I wanted to achieve in order to stay “CLI sharp”.  I was unable to schedule my written exam (and still am unable to do so) because VUE’s system still hasn’t given me the ability to schedule Cisco exams.  They said it would take 1 business day….that was last Wednesday.  😦

As I stated above, I will be reviewing QoS this week.  Then it’s on to MPLS.  My work has some CBTs (not sure what vendor) for MPLS.  I will use those for studying that topic.  If I have time, I will attempt to decipher IPv6 (probably my weakess area right now).  I will try to get 10 – 15 hours of mixed labs done (most likely more QoS and BGP labs) as well.  I’ll also try to get things sorted out with VUE and schedule my written exam.

My goals for the week:  12 hours of mixed technology labs. Schedule my CCIE written exam.  Review QoS.  Complete MPLS CBT.

Days Until Lab: 169
Readiness (1 to 10): 2
Lab Hours This Week 10
Study Hours This Week (estimate): 15
2 Comments »

  1. You might have to call Vue directly I had the same problem with scheduling my written exam. It took Vue about 4 days to get this corrected for me.

    Comment by Erica — October 17, 2007 @ 9:15 am | Reply

  2. @Erica – You are right. I finally did have to call VUE. After giving them all of my personal information as well as a blood sample and rights to my first-born; they told me that it would take a few days for their systems to update. Not a great first experience with VUE.

    Comment by cciepursuit — October 24, 2007 @ 10:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

