CCIE Pursuit Blog

August 6, 2007

Rack Time Rentals – New Users Get A Free Session

Filed under: CCIE Rack Rental,Cisco,Cisco Certification — cciepursuit @ 4:45 pm

I really want to get some lab time in this week.  I don’t have remote access to the lab at work (I’m going to push for that on Friday).  I do have Dynamips set up with a few routers, which will work fine for routing protocols, but I’m working on switching right now so I really want access to some real 3550s and 3560s.  Since I was booking on such short notice, I did not find any openings on some of the other rack rental vendors.  I decided to take a look at Rack Time Rentals since they had absorbed my favorite rack rental vendor, Bradshaw labs.

Rack Time Rentals have 11 CCIE Routing and Switching racks (9 set up for Internetwork Experts and 2 set up for NetMasterClass).  Their rentals run 11.5 hours and cost $45 a session.  I really wanted the longer rental period even though the rate per hour is a little higher than other rack rental vendors.  The thing that I really liked about Bradshaw Labs was their scheduling software.  You were able to instantly book a session and submit payment via PayPal from their site.  Rack Time Rentals use the two-step system that most other vendors use (submit a request for the session and then after they get back to you via email, submit payment).  They do get back to you rather quickly and book your session.  You get the information to access the rack after they receive payment.  It’s not as automated as Bradshaw Labs was, but it is pretty quick.

The big bonus is that Rack Time Rentals offers new users a free session:

As a new customer to Rack Time Rentals, I would like to welcome you, and offer you one FREE session, with your first purchase.  Please go to http://www.racktimerentals.com/scheduling.htm to schedule your free session.  The total for your session above is $45 U.S. dollars.

I was able to book another session for Thursday.  So I got two 11.5 hour sessions for $45.  This breaks down to $1.96 an hour, which is a great rate for a rack rental.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

