CCIE Pursuit Blog

July 23, 2007

Brain Drain

Filed under: Cisco,Cisco Certification,Personal — cciepursuit @ 12:09 pm

I’m still working my way through the Internetwork Expert Advanced Technologies videos.  I’m currently working on Multicast – yuck!  I’m am slowly getting my head around this technology.  This reminded me of another technology that I did not understand for years – Quality of Service.  I had worked with QoS for a few years without fully understanding the ins and outs of this technology.  Earlier this year I made a commitment to understand QoS and to pass the Cisco QoS exam.  With the help of Wendell Odom’s excellent book “Cisco QOS Exam Certification Guide (IP Telephony Self-Study) (2nd Edition)” I was able to finally understand QoS at a very high level and to pass the Cisco QoS exam.  If you had asked me anything about QoS in March I could have answered it.

That was then…this is now.  I am absolutely amazed at how much I have forgotten about QoS.  This is something that concerns me about my CCIE studies.  You need to be at an expert level on so many technologies.  I am afraid that once I learn OSPF, I will lose a lot of that knowledge after learning BGP.  🙂

To be fair, QoS is not something that I design.  I don’t generally configure QoS either.  The times that I do, I merely make minor adjustments to the corporate QoS template to make it work with the circuit size.  I’ve never worked with RSVP or Integrated Services.  So it’s not a big mystery as to why I have lost so much of my QoS “skillz” over the last 5 months.

One good thing is that it will be a LOT easier for me to quickly relearn this technology since I won’t be encountered new technologies that I have to learn from scratch.  My biggest concern is that I don’t want to keep forgetting parts of a technology and then once I relearn that technology I find out that I’ve forgotten another one. 🙂  

Ahh…the joys of CCIE pursuit. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

