CCIE Pursuit Blog

July 3, 2007

Advanced Tech Training and Time Management

Filed under: Training Materials — cciepursuit @ 8:50 am

I am booked for Internetwork Expert’s CCIE Routing & Switching Advanced Technologies Class Online (that’s a mouthful).  The class is two weeks on instruction.  The first week is self-paced via Internet access to Internetwork Expert’s Class On Demand (COD) server:

“Week one of class includes 40+ hours of recorded hands-on lecture on core CCIE Routing & Switching topics. Students are required to complete week one on their own in order to ensure they are prepared for the fast-paced accelerated learning found in week two. Week one is available in recorded format 24 hours a day 7 days a week so candidates can structure this first portion based on their own schedule.”

The second week of classes are live, interactive sessions over the Internet.  These begin on July 23.  With the package I purchased, I also have access to a previously recorded session of the second week classes.  Basically, I have access to about 80 hours of pre-recorded material and am scheduled to attend another 40 hours of the live class.

My initial plan was to view all of the recorded online sessions one time through (80 hours) and then go over the first week of classes again, this time taking notes (another 40 hours plus time for note taking).  As you can see, that adds up to well over 120 hours.  If you convert that to days, that comes out to FIVE days of non-stop video watching.  No sleep, no breaks, just watching training videos.  Now I have about 21 days to do this, but that still averages out to about 5 hours and 45 minutes a day of training. 

In light of this, I have altered my plan a bit.  I plan to go through the first week of training just one time.  I will take notes and take it slowly so that I understand the material very well.  Then I will watch the second week (or at least as much as I can) straight through.  That should make me very comfortable with the first week of material, while at least exposing me to the second week.  I will get more reinforcement of the second week’s material when I take the live class.  By viewing the second week of material, I should be able to ask better (more focused) questions as well as have a basic understanding of the material.
 
This plan seems pretty achievable.  I did some “back of the envelope” calculations:

While Internetwork Expert states that there are about 8 hours of training per day, I added up the running times for days 2 and 3 of week 1:

Day 2 = 5.6 hours
Day 3 = 5.9 hours

So let’s go ahead and assume 6 hours of instruction for each

Week 1 only: (5 x 6)/21 = 30/21 = 1.4 hours/day
Week 1 and 2: (10 x 6)/21 = 60/21 = 2.8 hours/day
Week 1 (twice) plus week 2: (15 x 6)/21 = 90/21 = 4.2 hours/day

I should be able to carve out 3 hours a day.  Time to quit blogging and start hitting the videos. 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

