CCIE Pursuit Blog

August 20, 2007

Status Update: 13 – 19 August

Filed under: Cisco,Cisco Certification,Personal,Status Updates — cciepursuit @ 9:10 am

I had another good week of studying, although I missed my lab goal from last week by 1 hour (goal of 20 hours, 19 actual hours).  I only viewed a couple of hours of the IEATC sessions as well.  I had planned to do 5 hours.  Still, I am happy with my progress.  I have been taking Mondays off, but not this week.  I really want to get at least 12 hours of lab done before the weekend, so I’m going to have to start labbing every day of the week except for Friday.  My plate is too full on Fridays for me to even consider trying to study.

I’ve been cruising along pretty well, but that’s because I’ve been hitting the easy stuff (switching, RIP, and Frame Relay).  I did all 20 Internetwork Expert Volume I Frame Relay labs on Sunday.  The IE Volume I labs are broken down by technology.  The content varies from technology to technology (sometime lab to lab within the same topic), but the Frame Relay labs are very well done.  There are “Ask Yourself” questions followed by a “Breakdown” section explaining technologies at the end of each lab.  By the time I was done, I could configure any type of Frame Relay interface and know whether or not broadcasts would work by default.   I also nailed down any lingering questions about Frame Relay inverse-arp.  Again, really basic stuff, but it’s good to have it down pat so I can start focusing on the tougher stuff.

My goals for this week are to get 20 hours of labs done as well as reread the RIP chapter in Routing TCP volume 1 as well as review the IEATC RIP video.  I’ll try to start on EIGRP as well.

Days Until Lab: 225
Readiness (1 to 10): 1
Lab Hours This Week 19
Study Hours This Week (estimate): 2

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers